…Follow the Process

Ann Stow
4 min readJan 18, 2024

--

Doing and thinking

Picture credit: The Do Lectures

This morning I’ve been focusing on developing the skeleton content for a book. I’ve been using a template which is highly detailed and has had me thinking hard about Chapters, Statements and Content. It’s a new process for me, and I am sure many people have followed it before, I am learning from it and trusting the process (thanks Kathryn Eade!).

The process is straightforward, and I guess if you’ve done it before, have done your research, have a really clear vision of what you want to achieve and are focused you can be in a good place to start writing in a matter of a few days. For me, with a passion and an idea, who knows the feel of the project, but hasn’t finalised research and interviews and has a bunch of other things going on, I feel it may take rather more time … as you know, it’s why I am doing the daily writing to form my habit!

That said, it is focusing my mind on the minutiae, taken my eye off the big picture (in which my mind often resides), and helped me, finally, focus. I have found it quite intense, I already had loose chapter names and ‘ingredients’ — a single word which captures the selection of topics I instinctively felt sat in each chapter.

In coming to write a ‘significant statement’ about each of these ‘ingredients’ I have found what looks like duplication across chapters (sometimes within, which means it either really belongs there, or I was tired when I wrote the list). Finding the duplication has made me wonder if it is in fact duplication, or fragmentation of the topic — or is it actually a different perspective on the topic in each chapter. This is great because it means I am grappling with the subjects more closely and gaining a deeper, better understanding of what it is I think I want to say. Now that’s exciting!

It also means I am reflecting on what I want to say, the things I want to talk about and how I will eventually begin to draw the story together into a coherent whole for the reader. The power of reflection cannot be under-estimated, and we generally don’t take enough time to do it properly. Today I am forced into it, because if I do not reflect on why things are there, how I feel they hold together & why, I can’t possibly do the work justice — & I feel it definitely worth doing it justice!

That means I will be taking a break from it & doing something else this afternoon, away from my scribbling, away from the phone & computer and away from the kitchen (which has been finished and is why my writing yesterday was private ). I will consider why the following topics show up in different chapters, and whether they should be chapters instead and that might mean going back to the chapter structure — but hey, this is about getting the preparation right, so the final product is better. The topics which are repeated are: People, Relationships, Values, Culture and Language/Communication. There’s also a couple of Systems and Psychology references which I may need to bottom out.

It has got me to thinking about process, how we all do things, how we approach tasks we are not familiar with and how we adapt, or rebel. I know a lot of process driven people, and roles, and they love it! I am always keen to find better ways of working, exploring new ways to facilitate outcomes. It’s something I talk about a lot with my clients, changing / tweaking a broken process, removing the requirement for workarounds (which might have been in place for years), is something which has made a difference in a few places in terms of time and quality.

I am not a happy form filler, process follower, or even a completer finisher I know I rail against process for process’ sake. On this occasion having a formula, a form, putting pen to paper and considering its order has been really rewarding and useful. It is making me smile because it is helping me draw together some disparate thoughts and disentangle some overlapping considerations.

So here’s to the right process for the right job, to reflection and creativity, and to anyone else out there, who’s taking a break to reflect this afternoon!

If anyone wants a copy of the proforma / process I am happy to share it, drop me a note in the comments!

--

--

Ann Stow

Passionate about making organisations more human - one conversation at a time.